Feel The Love

Emotional integrity is the keynote address when Farnell Newton plays his trumpet with heartfelt and hopeful expressiveness entreating us to “Feel the Love.” As this 2021 album covers a wide range of moods and genres, Newton’s trumpet playing remains steadily focused on portraying the subtle and tasteful elements of his style. He pushes melodicism to the forefront while also demonstrating his formidable command of the instrument. The whole album is truly a labor of love. To make this happen, Newton traveled east from Portland Oregon to New York City, to work with Posi-Tone and their capable rhythm section of pianist Art Hirahara, bassist Boris Kozlov, and drummers Rudy Royston and Joe Strasser. The album also features wonderful guest appearances from several of Farnell’s favorite saxophonists, including Jaleel Shaw, Braxton Cook, Brandon Wright, and Patrick Cornelius. With an amazing combination of diverse talents, several brilliant performances, and an evocative program of musical compositions, Farnell Newton keeps everything moving steadily straight forward, and continues to announce he is an important and emerging voice on today’s jazz scene.
released October 15, 2021

Farnell Newton – trumpet
Art Hirahara – piano
Boris Kozlov – bass
Rudy Royston – drums & percussion on all but 4, 6, 9
Braxton Cook – alto saxophone on 2, 10
Jaleel Shaw – alto saxophone on 3, 5, 7
Joe Strasser – drums on 4, 6, 9
Brandon Wright – tenor saxophone on 4
Patrick Cornelius – alto saxophone on 6, 9
Michael Dease – trombone on 7

Marc Free – producer
Nick O’Toole – engineer
recorded June 21, 2018 & September 17, 2019 (4, 6, 9) at Acoustic Recording, Brooklyn, NY
mixed & mastered at Woodland Studio, Lake Oswego, OR
photography by Andrew Wallner
package design by Jamie Brunson


Feel The Love

Release Date : 10.15.21
Genre : ,
Format : CD